General chat area for all members, any topic goes!
jayw
Part of the decor

Car stereo...

Post by jayw » 31 Jul 2010

Does anyone know where I can get a decent car stereo with USB and memory card capability (perhaps even solid state memory or HDD) but without a CD Player.

I've found this at www.clasohlson.co.uk

but it's cheap and nasty and i'd like a quality one from a brand name
Almost BX-less

Father Ted
Centenial time waster

Re: Car stereo...

Post by Father Ted » 31 Jul 2010

Something like that with a DAB receiver would be rather good - in the meantime I use my stock Nissan radio tape player with my Pure portable DAB running through a soldered 3.5mm plug on fly lead....
Image Image Image

Philhod
GET OUT MORE

Post by Philhod » 31 Jul 2010

:) I've been buying stuff from Claes ohlssons for about 16 years now and never had any trouble with their gear.

But if you have this modern fixation that it has to have a name to be any good, go ahead and spend money.

Personally if folks want to stick their name all over stuff, they can pay me to advertise.

Whether a thing works good enough for me, is my only criteria. :wink:
72... AND STILL ROCKIN..........around the world...... NOT in a chair yet

Now XBX And into HDI.....as well as other ...err.... things.

Fish_Botherer
Location: Sixty Feet up, wishing I still had a BX....but most likely bothering fish

Post by Fish_Botherer » 10 Aug 2010

Methinks plenty of "quality" stuff with a brand name comes from the same factories as the "cheap and nasty" nowadays - there are very few who are manufacturing their own kit for the kind of reasons we all know of.

I'm no fan of branding,..... on the basis that branding begets more branding, all of which needs a premium to cover the costs of brand promotion/advertising etc. etc. Somehow the product itself just gets lost in all this.

Not a sideswipe at anyone, just my own personal rant.

jayw
Part of the decor

Post by jayw » 10 Aug 2010